Author Topic: Help with very simple digital counter needed  (Read 3638 times)

gridbegone

• View Profile
Help with very simple digital counter needed
« on: November 23, 2011, 05:13:55 PM »
Hello -

Like many I am a longtime developer with newbie status in the embedded space  :wink:. I have a SBC65EC with the IOR5e and am trying to do something (ok, a few things) that I hoped would be relatively simple. Maybe it is :-)

I have a pair of water meters with reed switches. I need to count the closures of the switches in memory and occasionally write the memory value to flash with a time stamp (leading to challenge #2 - getting RTC to work with NTP).  I would like to trend this data visually later.

I had put RTC aside for the moment (I have almost got real time clock to work but am seeing odd values coming from the clock after trying to stitch together all the guidance I could find on the forums. NTP should have worked but not sure how to debug from here).

How can we reliably count the state changes of a digital IO? Is the timing of the SBC65EC so fast that this is just a non-issue? Perhaps so! Can anyone comment? We may have several state changes per second.

Basic Code Examples Desired Are As Follows:
- Basic but complete write/read log function that saves DI or AI values to flash or program area space with time stamp
- Read log example that dumps results to a web page. With date or other filter would be nice
- Complete RTC example with NTP support and web page that displace date and time
- Temperature read example using AI and recommended external component?
- Anyone got a Dallas 1-wire solution? 3rd party I found no longer offers a solution for SBC65EC

My hope was that these simple things could be done with existing example code. Hoping to prove that the above are possible with this platform before investing much more time/effort/money. Please PM me if you are offering a solution to all of above. May be willing to pay for a few hours of help.

Thanks for reading!